How to reset your 2018 and later MacBook Pro, Mac-mini or iMac

0
36

If you have an old Mac computer, it’s easy to clean the hard drive and get it ready it for sale. But the process of completely resetting them is more complex with newer models, including the iMac Pro, the 2018 Mac mini, and all MacBook Pro and MacBook Air models launched since 2018.

That’s because of the latest T2 safety chip from Apple, which incorporates Activation Lock, another protection element that makes things more difficult for thieves.

That’s a nifty feature, but if you fail to disable the functionality that uses the T2 chip before giving your device to a new user, or even before you turn it in for repair, it will also make things more difficult for you.

We are going to take you through the steps of disabling the Activation Lock function so that later the T2 chip will not make things complicated.

  • First, you need to figure out if Activation Lock is enabled or not, so you don’t waste any time unnecessarily. In order to do this, click on the Apple logo in the top left corner of your display and then click About this Mac.
  • Now click System Report. You will be able to see the Activation Lock status on the first screen. If the status shows “Enabled” then keep reading this guide but if it says “Disabled” then you can go ahead use the normal process to reset your Mac.

Now open System Preferences in the next step and click on Apple ID and then iCloud.

Uncheck Find My Mac from the list.

Once Find My Mac is unchecked. Click on the Overview on the left side and sign out.

Now that the Activation Lock has been successfully disabled, you can go ahead and reset your Mac to factory settings easily.

At first, make sure that you have backed up all your personal files to an external hard drive using Time Machine or your favourite cloud storage service on your MacBook or macOS computer. You can start with the wiping process  once you have made sure that everything is duplicated and secure at a place other than your hard drive.

  • Restart your Mac. Press and hold the Command and R button until the Apple logo appears and you hear the startup chime.This will boot you into your hard drive’s recovery partition, enabling you to wipe your data once and for all.
  • Click on the Disk Utility out of the few options available to you, then click on the first option mentioned under the title of your hard drive. If you haven’t changed its name, “Macintosh HD” is probably what it is called.
  • Navigate to Erase and click Yes on the confirmation dialogue box.
  • You are able to reinstall the operating system after this step is through. Click on the red ‘x’ and return to the recovery list. Make sure your computer is connected to the internet and click ‘ reinstall macOS ‘ to restore it back to factory settings.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here